Our Mission. Making a Difference in Dee-Mack Schools.

The Deer Creek-Mackinaw Education Foundation (DCMEF) was founded in 1996 as a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation for the purpose of supporting education programs that are innovative and that will enrich, enhance, or compliment the educational opportunities for the students of Deer Creek-Mackinaw Community Unit School District No. 701.

The DCMEF was formed to provide a non-profit entity whereby persons dedicated to the educational interest of the students of Dee-Mack Schools could make tax deductible contributions. Since its inception, the DCMEF has provided funding for Innovative Teaching Grants, Technology, and Scholarships.

Students using laptops

Our Staff. Meet the Board of Directors.

Margaret England - President

Margaret served 30 years as a Speech and Language Pathologist, Kindergarten teacher and Principal at the Primary and Junior High School from 1973 through her retirement in 2003. She holds a Doctorate in Curriculum and Instruction from Illinois State University. Dr. England has served as President of the Foundation since joining the Board of Directors in January 2003.

Judy Stechman - Secretary

As a lifelong resident of Deer Creek-Mackinaw, Judy attended school at Mackinaw Grade School and graduated from Dee-Mack High School in 1964. She was a very active student in high school, participating in cheerleading (4 years), student council, and was co-editor of the yearbook. After graduation, Judy stayed in the area and raised three children, who all graduated from Dee-Mack schools. She also served as Deer Creek Township Supervisor for four years. Judy joined the Foundation Board of Directors in 2012 and has served as Secretary since that time.

Steve Yarnall - Treasurer

Steve retired as Superintendent of Dee-Mack schools in 2012, after serving the district as a teacher, coach, principal, and superintendent for 25 years. In addition to his time on the Foundation Board, Steve has served on the Board of Education since April 2015 and is currently the Vice President. Steve’s wife, Pam is a Dee-Mack graduate (1974) and they have a daughter who graduated from Dee-Mack schools in 2001. Steve has been on the Board of Directors since 2009 and has served as Treasurer since 2016.

Kelly Burmaster - Director

A lifelong resident of Mackinaw, Kelly attended Dee-Mack schools graduating from Dee-Mack High School in 1989. While at DMHS, she participated in FHA and Student Council. Kelly and her husband Darin have two daughters, class of 2020 and a 2012 graduate. In addition to her time on the Foundation Board, Kelly has served the community on the Board of Education since 2003 as well as the Mackinaw Rescue Squad since 2014. She has served on the Foundation Board of Directors since 2005.

Bill Embry - Director; Founding Member; Past President

Another lifelong resident of Mackinaw, Bill attended Dee-Mack schools graduating in 1973. Bill was active in Beta Club, Baseball, Basketball, Football as well as acting in school plays while at Dee-Mack HS. He and his wife, Diana, have a daughter, Starr (1990), and son, Thomas (2007), who are graduates of DMHS. Bill is a previous owner of the Henderson-Weir Agency in Mackinaw. He has served on the Board of Directors since its inception in 1996. It is his vision and dedication for the past 20 years that has grown the foundation to what it is today.

Marilyn Harris - Director; Past Treasurer

Marilyn has resided in the community since 1954, graduating from Dee-Mack High School in 1962. While attending Dee-Mack HS, she served in leadership positions in various organizations. Since graduation she has worked at Caterpillar, Dee-Mack Schools and the Henderson-Weir Agency. Marilyn’s children are graduates of Dee-Mack (1984, 1986 and 1988) and two of her grandchildren are graduates (2008 and 2012). Marilyn has served on the Board of Directors since 2006 serving as Treasure from 2009 through 2015. Additionally, she has served as Treasurer for the Mackinaw Area Community Chest for 25 years.

Virgil Jacobs - Director; Founding Member

Virgil is a retired Superintendent of Dee-Mack schools having served the district for 34 years. Virgil and Lee’s children graduated from DMHS, as well as two grandchildren. Daughter-in-law, Michelle is currently the principal of Dee-Mack Primary and Junior High. Virgil helped establish the foundation in 1996. He has been instrumental in establishing and developing the Foundation to what it is today.

Photo of board members

(Seated L-R): Margaret England, Judy Stechman

(Standing L-R): Steve Yarnall, Virgil Jacobs, Bill Embry

Not pictured: Kelly Burmaster, Marilyn Harris